.
News Alert
Bomb Threat at UMass Boston, Building Evacuated

Guaman Competency still Under Review

A Superior Court judge has not yet decided whether Nicolas Guaman is competent to face a trial in the death of Matthew Denice.

WORCESTER — A Superior Court judge has not yet decided whether Nicolas Guaman is competent to stand trial.

Judge Janet Kenton-Walker said the issue is still under advisement. The next scheduled court date on the competency issue is March 28, but she could issue her decision at any time.

The family of Matthew Denice attended the court session Tuesday, and said the length of the trial process is difficult, but they want Guaman to face the maximum sentence.

Police have charged Nicolas Guaman, 36, with operating the motor vehicle, and then failing to stop once he hit Denice, who was dragged when his helmet became lodged in the wheel well.

Guaman is charged with second-degree murder, which is punishable by a 15 year sentence. He is a citizen of Ecuador, and is subject to an ICE detainer, which means he could face deportation after serving a sentence if convicted.

He is being held in the Worcester County jail while the case proceeds. He was not in court Tuesday for the status conference.

On March 13, prosecutors plan to depose his brother, Pablo Guaman, his older brother, faces a misdemeanor charge in connection with the case — allowing improper operation of a motor vehicle.

Maureen Maloney, the mother of Denice, said she appreciated the judge was being deliberate. "I'm glad she's using the most appropriate interpreter, so he understands" what is being said.

joe carroll February 26, 2013 at 05:34 PM
What are we doing here!!! He lived in this country for many years,recieved a paycheck from his employer i'am sure if he was shorted on his pay he know the difference.please folks let's stop wasting tax money and courts time and do the right thing here.Let's stop trying to be so correct here and be REAL this whole situation could have been avoided if he obeyed the law,he chose not to so he must pay the price for the crime.We are not asking for a public hanging here we are asking the courts to do the right thing. Joe Carroll
RobE February 26, 2013 at 05:58 PM
I wonder if he's competent enough to board a plane.
Anonymous February 26, 2013 at 06:55 PM
Agreed 1 million percent......
MilfordMomof3 February 26, 2013 at 07:37 PM
He was competent enough to hold a job, to come here illegally, and would be to competent enough to flee the country if given the chance. He is responsible for the death of someone and needs to be held responsible. Where is the justice for the victim?
Milford Senior Man February 26, 2013 at 10:01 PM
MilfordMomof3, the courts don't really care about justice for the victim. Their concern is how can we help the person that committed this crime. I know this sounds crazy but it's true.
Antonio Mario Inamorati February 26, 2013 at 10:41 PM
I wonder if this comment will be submitted...
Antonio Mario Inamorati February 26, 2013 at 10:44 PM
Ok it works now. He actually did flee the country. He cut off his ankle bracelet. The monitoring company neglected to notify MPD. MPD , coincidentally, did a check on him 3 days after he cut off his bracelet. The MPD failed to notice the ankle monitor was not on him. Then he fled the country. I think that's how it went down
Tippy Doodle February 26, 2013 at 11:08 PM
Antonio, you have the wrong guy fleeing. Luis Acosta, a passenger in the Ford F-150 and a witness to the events the night Denice was killed, has already slipped his GPS and fled the country, back to Ecuador.
TeddyInMilford February 27, 2013 at 03:21 PM
He'll never see trial. The Worcester courts are trying to find a way to get him out of it. Right now Guaman is the poster-boy for what can go wrong in terms of ignoring the illegal immigration issues in MA. Therefore, having him around, and having a conviction gives a great counter-argument to Deval Patrick's stance. I have no doubt that Judge Kenton-Walker is getting enormous pressure from the Governor’s office to find Guaman incompetent to stand trial. The people of MA want to ignore this crime. Have no doubt, it will be ignored. The only thing that the people of Milford should get ready for is to be demonized by the Boston Globe as soon as Guaman is found incompetent and placed on a plane. Milford will be painted as the criminal...there's no other way this works out.
Babs01757 February 27, 2013 at 04:22 PM
TeddyinMilford unfortunately I agree with you. Judge Kenton-Walker was appointed by Gov Patrick in 2009. Antonio Mario Inamorati Luis Acosta was the passenger in the truck. Yes conveniently he was allowed to flee the country. I say "allowed" because the facts do not add up. He cut his bracelet off and ICE does nothing about it for days until they are notified by the MPD. Acosta flew to Ecuador on a direct flight out of NY. I thought since 911 airlines and TSA were very strictly screening passengers, I am sure there was at least a warrant out for Acosta. Lastly if he was on an ICE detainer where was Acosta's passport, shouldn't ICE have taken it? If they did how did he get another passport so quickly? Way too many unanswered questions. Which leads us back to what TeddyinMilford said. Gov. Patrick will do anything to keep the illegals on his side. Once his buddy Obama wants to give them amnesty Patrick will benefit from their votes one day. Before you know it we will be the minorities in our own country. Mary MacDonald, have you ever done any investigative reporting or do you know any investigative reporters? Now that Antonio reminded me of Acosta I realize there are so many unanswered questions. An investigative reporter should follow up on that story. It also leaves the defense attorney the option of saying Guaman was not driving it was Acosta. That would truly be a travesty.
aycaramba February 28, 2013 at 05:15 AM
Oh no, more speculation and crystal ball reading and sweeping, politically-biased but uninformed attacks on the Governor and the President. How helpful. TeddyinMilford--you have no doubts "that Judge Kenton-Walker is getting enormous pressure from the Governor’s office to find Guaman incompetent to stand trial." Please support that statement with evidence. You say, "The people of MA want to ignore this crime." I completely disagree. We will not forget this crime, and it will not be ignored. Babs01757, really??? "Gov. Patrick will do anything to keep the illegals on his side. Once his buddy Obama wants to give them amnesty Patrick will benefit from their votes one day. Before you know it we will be the minorities in our own country." REALLY??? Fear mongering and hogwash. Get real, and stop claiming as knowledge your own half-baked opinions and fears and pre-judgments.
TeddyInMilford March 02, 2013 at 05:50 PM
aycaramba: Are you serious? Deval Patrick poo poo'd Secure Communities from the start. What does that tell you about where his opinions lay? As for proof of the Patrick Administration pressuring a judge, of course I have no proof, it's my opinion. If I had to make a guess, I would guess that Judge Kenton-Walker HAS received phone calls on the matter from the governor's office. As for wanting to ignore this crime....PUH LEEZ!! Ted Kennedy KILLED a woman and it was ignored. The last three speakers of the house all went to prison. Joe Kennedy ran for office for a total of three weeks, made two campaign stops, and was elected to state rep. If your politics place you on the left, and you are an authority figure in MA, then you can do NO WRONG. Anyone whose views are in opposition to yours are to be demonized and rejected by nearly every major outlet in the state. As for the fear mongering. Ted Kennedy pulled really hard for amnesty back in the 80s with the promise that the borders would be more secure and immigration laws would be better enforced. Guess what, he got his way and BOOM he secured the Democratic Party a slew of votes. On his promise...nothing has happened it's only become worse. See, you may not remember, but all of this crap has happened before. You've just ignored it. Guaman has nothing to worry about.
TeddyInMilford March 02, 2013 at 05:55 PM
Oop! I checked out some of your replies in other threads. ...troll in the dungeon.
aycaramba March 02, 2013 at 08:49 PM
Teddy the Troll. Yep, that's the post. Keep guessing, Troll. And tell us all about the Kennedys!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something